Did you say tomato?

Every year one of my family members grows a garden.  I’m not really sure what they put in the soil but every year the veggies seem to get bigger and more plentiful.  This last weekend they brought me a huge bag full of tomatoes.  Can I tell you, there is nothing better than a tomato picked right off the vine. I probably could eat the whole lot of them in one sitting as if they were apples.  Anyway, the first thought that popped into my head was, what the heck am I going to do with all these tomatoes?  Sure I could put them into my salad, but that’s super boring. Then I remembered that I have a couple of cookbooks that deal with veggies.

Tonight’s recipe comes from The Market Fresh Cookbook by Taste of Home, a wonderful cookbook full of recipes for both side dishes and main courses that incorporate farm fresh veggies.

Bruschetta Chicken

Ingredients:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup egg substitute (I used 2 large eggs)

4 boneless skinless chicken breast (about 1 pound)

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used seasoned because it’s what I had on hand)

1 Tbsp. melted butter

2 large tomatoes, seeded and chopped

3 Tbsp. minced fresh basil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 Tbsp. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Place flour and eggs in separate shallow bowls. Dip chicken in flour, then in eggs; place in greased 13×9 baking dish.  Combine the Parmesan cheese, bread crumbs and butter; sprinkle over chicken.** Loosely cover baking dish with foil.  Bake 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Uncover; bake 5-10 minutes longer or until browned.

2. Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.  Spoon over the chicken. Return to the oven for 3-5 minutes or until tomato mixture is heated through.

**Variation: Dip chicken in flour, then in eggs, then in breadcrumb/parmesan mixture (omit the butter), just like if you were making chicken parm.  Pan fry the cutlets in olive oil until browned on each side and finish in the oven for about 15 minutes.

Verdict: If you like garlic, and I do, you’ll like this.  It was very garlicky, maybe because I used 3 cloves instead of 2.  My husband gave it two thumbs up and wants it in our menu rotation. Next time I’ll make double since he apparently has two stomachs and is still hungry.  He just polished off a box of Basic 4.

2 thoughts on “Did you say tomato?

Leave a Reply

