Sunday Food Funday

I love Sunday, it seems to be the only day of the week where we take it slow and relax before the crazy work week begins. It’s also the only day of the week that we make breakfast in my house. Eric makes the best pancakes I’ve ever had south of the Mason-Dixon, I say that because there are some pretty rockin’ diners up north. currently we are obsessed with Stonewall Kitchen’s pancake mix. Now usually I’m into mixes, they tend to taste fake and processed, but this mix is different. The pancakes are so light and fluffy and come out perfect every time.

Last weekend while we were shopping at our favorite cooking store I found the coolest baking pan, a waffle dipper pan! I love how there are all these specialty out on the market, my collection is growing by the minute, from donut pans, to individual brownie square pans, and now waffle dipper pans, what will they come up with next? Today we made pancake dippers (pancake recipe baked in the waffle pan), so good! I suggest if you have kids or are a kid at heart this is a great item to add to your baking collection.

 

Our lunch today was pretty uneventful.  We weren’t super hungry for lunch until 4pm, so of course eating so late kind of put a hold on the dinner we had planned.  But just because we skipped dinner, doesn’t mean we had to skip dessert.    As I have mentioned before, I have tons of cookbooks.  My goal is to try a few new recipes from different cookbooks each week.   The list keeps growing of the recipes I want to try, so this may just work out.   One of my favorite chefs is Jacques Pepin.  I used to watch him on the Create Channel until Comcast decided to stop showing it, or moved it, in any event I can’t find it anymore and I’m totally bummed about it.  So what did I do, I bought his show’s cookbooks  “Fast Food My Way” and “More Fast Food My Way”.   All the recipes in these books are fast, fresh, and perfect for dinner during the week.    Tonight we tried his Crisp Pear Tart recipe since it called for tortillas which we had left over from the enchilada’s a few nights ago.    Here’s how you make it:

Crisp Pear Tart  from More Fast Food My Way by Jacques Pepin

Ingredients: 
1 7-inch or 8-inch flour tortilla

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at cool room temperature

3 tablespoons sugar

2 medium Bartlett or Anjou pears, peeled, cored and each cut into 12 wedges (about 3/4 pound total)

3 tablespoons apricot preserves

1 tablespoon unsalted pistachio nuts

 
Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with a silicone liner or parchment paper.Place the tortilla in the center of the baking sheet, then spread 1 tablespoon of the butter on the top of the tortilla and sprinkle it with 1 tablespoon of the sugar. Turn the tortilla over so the buttered side is facing down.Beginning at the edge of the tortilla, arrange the pear wedges in a concentric circle, with the thin edge of each wedge facing the tortilla’s center. Create another slightly overlapping circle, working in toward the center. Add more rows with the remaining wedges, ending with a few pear pieces in the center to complete what will look like a large rose. Cut the remaining tablespoon of butter into pieces and use them to dot the top of the apples. Sprinkle with the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar.

Bake for 30 minutes or until the pear slices are tender and the tortilla is crisp and browned. Remove from the oven, set aside for a minute or so, then lift the tart with a spatula and transfer it to a wire rack to cool, discarding any burned bits around it.

If the apricot preserves are too thick to use as a glaze, heat them in a microwave oven for about 10 seconds to liquefy them, then spread or brush them on top of the tart.

Cut the tart into 4 wedges, sprinkle with the pistachios and serve at room temperature.

I served it with homemade Salted Caramel Ice Cream (ok, so this time it wasn’t completely homemade, I cheated and used Sur La Table’s mix, I know, I know, another mix, but it was from Sur La Table so it’s ok.) 

Verdict:  Eric probably could have eaten three more of these.   I’d totally serve this to company, you wouldn’t even know it was a tortilla it was so crispy and the sugar caramelized making it crunchy.  Only suggestion I would make is, be sure you buy regular Pistachio nuts, the salt and pepper ones give it a certain flare, but the plain ones would be much better.  

This is just one of three recipes from Monsieur Pepin we are trying this week,  this set the bar pretty high and I’m sure we will not be disappointed.  Merci et bonne nuit.

Leave a Reply

