Pinning it on Jacques

The worst thing to happen to the internet since Facebook is Pinterest.  I find myself pinning recipes left and right during the work day, which means, I’m very productive.   Today I think I may have been caught red-handed.  My department head passes my cube periodically throughout the day and I’m pretty sure he checks out my computer screen with each pass.  Paranoia?  I think so.  He came by my cube today and asked me what I was making for dinner tonight.  You may not think this is weird or out of the ordinary.  But oh man, was it.  The first thing I thought was, “Oh rats, I’ve been caught”, my face turned all red and I started talking non-stop about cookbooks and I don’t even remember what….awkward to say the least.  A few more of my co-workers joined in the conversation after a bit and then I realized, maybe he really was just wondering what I was making for dinner.  I’m going to go with that and hope that this spirals into more food conversations in the future.  I’m going to try to limit my pinning though to only a few times a day, just in case. 

I told you I was going to make a few recipes from Jacques Pepin this week. Tonight happens to be recipe number 2, Chicken Breasts with Garlic and Parsley.  This was a wonderful 30 minute meal.  I paired it with a salad and Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend (if you haven’t tried this, it’s so amazing.  Run to your nearest Trader Joe’s right now and buy at least three bags, you’ll thank me later). 

Chicken Breasts with Garlic and Parsley by Jacques Pepin “Fast Food My Way”

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (1 pound, 6 ounces), cut into 1- to 1-1/2-inch cubes

2 tablespoons Wondra flour or AP Flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons good olive oil

1 tablespoons chopped garlic

3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 lemon, quartered

Directions:

Dry the chicken cubes with paper towels and toss them with the flour, salt and pepper in a bowl. Heat the oil in a 12-inch skillet until very hot but not smoking. Add the chicken cubes and cook in one layer turning occasionally, for about 3 1/2 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine the garlic and parsley in a small bowl. Add the butter and the parsley mixture to the skillet and sauté for 1 minute longer, shaking the skillet occasionally to coat the chicken. Divide among 4 plates, add a wedge of lemon to each plate and serve within 15 minutes.

Verdict:  This dish was super easy and tasted french, I think it was the butter which created a delicious pan sauce.  I only made this with two breasts since there is just two of us.  Apparently my husband has a bottomless stomach because he was still hungry despite eating a decent sized salad and a couple of heaps of the grains.  I also think this would make a great hors d’oeuvre for a party, just stick a fancy  toothpick in it and voila, you’re good to go.  

Maybe I should pin this recipe???  Nah, just go buy the cookbook, it contains tons of great recipes and exceeds my 5 recipe rule for cookbook purchasing.   I heard Mr. Pepin will be at the Metropolitan Cooking Show in DC this coming November.  If you’ve never been, its awesome.  I’ve been the last two years and had such a great time.  This year I’m thinking about going to Jacques cooking demo.  I freaked when I saw Paula Deen two years ago, I don’t know how I will contain myself when I see Jacques!  I’m getting excited just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

