Rockin’ Red Peppers

I watch a lot of cooking shows, but between you and me, the Food Network has basically become the MTV of cooking channels.  I can only watch so many Iron Chef America and Cupcake War episodes.  Where did all the actual cooking shows go?   To the Cooking Channel of course!  For those who have not yet discovered this channel, please turn on your tv and search for it until you find it, I promise you won’t be disappointed.   They have new chefs and cooks who bring a whole new freshness to the world of food.  Case in point, Nadia G of Bitchin’ Kitchen, which so happens to be on tv right now (two episodes starting at 10pm).  Nadia has got to be the most entertaining chefs on tv.  What makes her so great?  Well, first of all she is Italian-Canadian, her show is called Bitchin’ Kitchen, she has tons of tattoos, an awesome set and probably the best shoes I’ve seen outside my own kitchen.  Oh, and on her website you can see where she buys her clothes so you can dress just like her.

I have to say I jumped on the Nadia G bandwagon early on.  I bought her first cookbook before her first season concluded and pre-ordered her most recent cookbook as soon as I heard it was scheduled to be released.  We’ve tried many of her recipes, all have been wonderful and I kick myself after every success because I don’t use her recipes as often as I should.   Most of the recipes are pretty healthy, like tonight’s recipe:

Stuffed Peppers with Ground Turkey-  “Cookin’ For Trouble”-Nadia G

Ingredients:

5 red or orange bell peppers
2 cups San Marzano plum tomatoes, pureed
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon raw sugar
Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 small yellow onions, finely chopped
11/2 pound ground turkey
2 carrots, grated
2 zucchini, grated

Directions for Tomato Pepper Sauce:
Roughly chop one red bell pepper, and cook in a small pot of boiling water for 15 minutes, until tender.

Drain and puree. Sieve the pureed pepper with the pureed tomatoes into a bowl. Season with the sea salt, raw sugar, and freshly cracked pepper. Set aside.

Peppers:
Slice the top off of 4 bell peppers; reserve the tops, and remember which top goes with which pepper. Remove the seeds and pith from the inside of the peppers.

Turkey Stuffing:
Heat the extra virgin olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Sauté the onions for 12 minutes, until slightly browned. Add the ground turkey and cook for 12 to 15 minutes, or until cooked through. Stir in the grated carrots, zucchini, and 1/2 cup of tomato pepper sauce, and take it off the heat.

Putting It Together:
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Place the peppers in a deep baking dish, and spoon in the stuffing. Pour 1 tablespoon of tomato pepper sauce over the exposed stuffing and crown each pepper with its matching top. Pour the rest of the tomato pepper sauce into the bottom of the baking dish, and bake for 1 hour covered, and another 30 minutes uncovered.

Verdict:  Very good, quite a change from my mom’s stuffed peppers that are made with rice, mozzarella cheese, ground beef and tomato sauce, Eric likes these better (sorry mom).  I wish there was cheese, but honestly that’s just me because it really didn’t need it.  I made two peppers so I have a lot of filling left over.  No worries though, tomorrow we’re having a round 2 dinner where I’ll use the leftovers.   Scratch that, Eric just told me he ate most of the filling before cleaning up the kitchen.  Oops.  Anyway, I should mention that Nadia suggests that this can be made vegetarian by leaving out the meat and adding rice and beans, that doesn’t sound so bad, maybe I’ll try that for a Meatless Monday. 

Well, now I have to plan tomorrows dinner since we aren’t having a round 2 recipe…I told you this was a good one!   So, in the words of Miss Nadia G “A la Prossima!”

Leave a Reply

