Williamsburg Adventures

Happy Labor Day!  I hope you all were able to take some time to relax and have fun before summer comes to a close.   This weekend my husband and I went to Williamsburg, VA for a mini vacation.  My brother lives there so we had our own tour guide, which was nice.  The day and half we were there was packed full of food, food and more food, with a little colonial history thrown in here and there. 

We started off our adventure at Plaza Azteca.  I think I could eat mexican food all day, everyday.  The first thing I noticed was that they do table side guacamole, another one of my obsessions.  Next time I will tell them to make it mild because the medium burned my face off…darn jalapenos strike again.  Now usually I’m not one to take a chance on seafood at a mexican restaurant, I’m not sure why, but I may just have changed my mind about it because their shrimp tacos were AMAZING!  The shrimp was grilled not fried, which was huge plus and even though I was filled to the gills on the spicy guac and chips, I powered through and rolled out of there very satisfied.  

Now if you know me, you know how much I love BBQ.  My mom happens to make pretty good ribs, considering she’s from New York and Italian.  So knowing how much I love a pulled pork sandwich, my bro took us to Pierce’s Pit BBQ.  I got the pulled pork with slaw and a side of onion rings.  Probably one of the best pulled pork sandwiches I’ve ever had, ranked in the top 5 at least.  I’m glad I don’t live close to this restaurant because I’d go there at least once of week, I’d also be on cholesterol controlling medication.

Pulled Pork from Pierce’s

We did do other things than just eat, I just want to clarify that.  Though with all the candy, fudge, BBQ, mexican and more candy, it really seems to have taken up most of our time there.   

After eating the best thing to do is to walk it off shopping.  We went to this cute little trading post store, it was pretty interesting.  They had everything from cowboy hats to well, I think the following pictures say it all. 

 

 

 I really am kicking myself for not buying the “White Trash Cookbook”.  I did flip through it, it was interesting, however, I didn’t think I would every make anything out it, but boy would it make an interesting addition to my collection.  If I ever see one again, I’ll probably pick it up.  I did however purchase a “Best of Virginia” cookbook which has a ton of delicious recipes that I can’t wait to try!

We got to the Colonial Village late so there weren’t any people doing “Colonial” things. We stayed at the Yankee Candle store way too long, but it was totally worth it, I got a bunch of fall scented candles. 

All in all the trip was good. I wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully we will be able to visit it again soon.  Next time I’d like to actually see some Colonial folks and maybe go to Jamestown and Yorktown.  We shall see!

So I can’t end this without a recipe.   Tonight we are sticking to Meatless Monday and having Rigatoni with Pesto and Peas.  I have a ton of Basil and I love making it and freezing it for those days when we want a quick easy dinner.   I don’t use pine nuts in my pesto, I’m too cheap.  Walnuts are a great substitute and honestly no one can really tell the difference.  

Pesto

Ingredients:

2-3 cloves of garlic

2 cups of basil leaves

1 handful of walnuts (or if you’re fancy, 2 Tbsp. of pine nuts)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup of parmesan cheese ( or a tad bit more if you like cheese)

Blend everything together in a food processor until smooth.  You may have to scrape the sides down a few times.   Toss with cooked pasta or spread on crescent rolls before you roll them up…Yum!

Tonight I added peas to the pasta, it turned out great. 

Verdict: Eric had like 4 servings and just finished the last of it.  I guess I’ll have to buy my lunch tomorrow…

I’ve planned a bunch of new recipes for this week.  Most are new ones that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. 

I made confetti blondies for dessert, I hope they come out good, they sure smell awesome!  I got the recipe from Pinterest, a pin from a blog called “Girl Meets Life“.  Pretty cute blog, she posts recipes using cake batter.   I’ll let you know tomorrow how they came out. 

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

