Taco Thursday

I love tacos, I probably could eat them everyday.  If you’re near the Old Town Alexandria Whole Foods on Thursdays, I’m not sure if it’s at all WF stores, you need to try their street tacos.  I always see their cute little set up near the hot food and salad stations, but have never tried them.  You can get 2 or 3 tacos in an order,( I forgot how much they are but I didn’t tell the cashier the box had a bar code so she weighed it and it was cheaper than it should have been…oops) with either chicken, steak or tofu all wrapped in a corn tortilla.  The fixings are on the side, I added cabbage, onion, cilantro and their Habanero cream sauce to my chicken and tofu tacos.  I’m now hooked, I wish they had these tacos everyday, but considering I don’t ever leave WF without doing some shopping, it’s probably not a good idea. 

I planned on having tacos for dinner earlier in the week and I wasn’t really planning on having tacos for lunch, but the more the merrier.  Tonight I made fish taco’s, it’s a good thing too because I was running out of room in the freezer.  I like to buy frozen filets of various kinds of fish, I know it’s not as good as fresh, oh well, I like it.   There are a ton of fish taco recipes out there and I’ve tried many of them.  I’ve broiled, grilled, pan-fried and deep-fried cod, tilapia and halibut for tacos, all have been good, but I prefer the lightest version I can make.  I feel if you’re going to eat fish to try to eat healthy, you shouldn’t deep fry it, unless you’re doing the fish and chips thing, that’s different and really delicious.   My favorite recipe for these tacos is adapted from Anne Burrell.  I’ve made a few adjustments as usual and Eric whipped up an asian dressing for the slaw. 

Fish Tacos (Food Network Chef Anne Burrell)

Ingredients:

For the fish:

1 pound flaky white fish fillets, such as haddock, halibut or cod (I used tilapia, three small filets made six tacos)

1 lime, zested and juiced

1/2 tsp. Paprika

1/4 tsp. cumin

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

Kosher salt

Cabbage: I bought pre-shredded cabbage, like a cole slaw mix.  Eric added a dressing that was amazing, you can definitely play around with different flavors.

1/2 head savoy cabbage, shredded

3 scallions, sliced thinly on the bias

1 jalapeno, minced, optional

1/4 to 1/2 cup white vinegar

2 tablespoons honey

1/4 cup canola oil

Kosher salt

6-8 flour tortillas ( I used whole wheat corn tortillas)

1 avocado, halved, pitted and flesh sliced

Verdict: They were so good.  They were nice and light and fresh tasting.  Eric really enjoyed them too, he wants me to make these every week, but lets not get too carried away.  The only problem was that he wanted more.  3 tacos for me was perfect, they weren’t huge but filling, unless you have a bottomless stomach like some people… I say, more room for dessert!

Now, what to do with the leftover tortillas….

 

One thought on “Taco Thursday

Leave a Reply

