Friday Never Felt So Good

Happy Friday!! This week has dragged on, even though it was filled with a happy hour and yoga class.  I’m super glad it’s almost the weekend!  Just gotta make it through the day.  My biggest decision for today is figuring out what’s for lunch.  Sorry I haven’t been posting the last few days, here is a recap.  Tuesday night Eric made delicious fajitas with an avocado cream sauce.  He did a great job per usual.  I have to say I’m very lucky to have a husband who knows his way around the kitchen and actually enjoys cooking, though he’s still not allowed to make spaghetti sauce.   Wednesday is usually our busy weeknight so it was a leftover night, also known as “Fend for Yourself” night, I chose a PB & J sandwich with my mom’s awesome strawberry jam, it totally hit the spot.  Sometimes something so simple is just so satisfying.  I am one jar down, one more to go.  The jam just tastes like summer in a jar, I love it.

Last night I actually got back on the culinary bandwagon and made dinner.  I wanted a quick, no fuss, minimal clean up meal (doesn’t really matter for me, Eric is in charge of clean up and dishes) so Pork Chops with Shallots and Tomatoes fit the bill.  I like to serve it with salad and couscous.  I’ve kind of taken a recipe and modified a bit after making it a few times.  I don’t have an exact recipe, but those are the best kind of meals in my book, it gives you more room to play and adjust things to how you like it.

Pork Chops with Shallots and Tomatoes

Ingredients

4 center cut pork loin chops, bone in

2 shallots, thinly sliced

1/2 container of grape tomatoes, halved

1 1/2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

Olive oil

flour for dredging

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Lightly dredge the pork chops in the flour, I like to season my flour with garlic and onion powder.  Heat skillet on medium heat with a few Tbsp. of olive oil, if the pan is not big enough to fit all four chops, cook in batches, overcrowding the pan will steam the food and not create that gorgeous crust you want.  Cook chops 2-3 minutes per side, depending on how thick they are (I prefer thin ones).  Once all the chops are done, remove from pan, place on a plate and cover with tin foil.

In the same pan you used for the chops, add a Tbsp. of oil, shallots and tomatoes.  Cook for 1-2 minutes stirring frequently.  Add 1 1/2 Tbsp. of balsamic vinegar and stir to coat tomatoes and shallots, cook 1 minute.  Add pork back to pan, cook 1 minute to marry the flavors.  Serve with shallots and tomatoes on top of each pork chop.

Verdict: Always a favorite in our house.  Eric requests this about every other week.  Plus he loves couscous, which still surprises me.  I never have leftovers because he ends up going back for thirds and sometimes fourths.  Couscous is a great side dish for many meals, its pretty versatile.  I add onions, garlic, red pepper flake and za’atar (middle eastern spice mixture), sometimes I’ll add chopped tomatoes and a tiny bit of mint (I mostly do this if I make lamb chops).

So far this weekend will prove to be full of very delicious food.  Well, tentatively as we all know sometimes the last thing we want to do on a Saturday is cook, or maybe that’s just me.  In any event, I will be eating, hopefully something fabulous, I”ll keep you posted.

On a side note, I just finished a new mystery book, A Diva Runs Out of Thyme, by Krista Davis.  I really like this series so far, it incorporates recipes, helpful food tips and decorating ideas all while the character tries to solve a murder mystery.  It’s definitely one of those fun reads, nothing too serious and there’s always a chance you’ll find a new fabulous recipe to try.  This first book centers around a mystery taking place during Thanksgiving, so there are many fall themed decor and menu ideas.  I’m itching to make her bourbon pecan pie.  Did you know that the airplane booze bottles equal 3 tablespoons?  Pretty handy if you just need a few tablespoons for cooking or baking and don’t want to buy an entire bottle.

Until next time, Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

