Best Burger Joint In Town

Ok, well, that may not be entirely true.  In fact, I have a whole list of places that do great burgers, my house is just not one of the top 5. When I think of a burger, I think of a massive all beef patty with all the fixings and a side of fries or if I’m feeling extra indulgent, onion rings (good beer battered onion rings, not the crunchy pankoish ones).  When I make burgers at home, I tend to go the healthier route and use ground chicken or turkey, whole wheat buns, Vegenaise and if we have bacon, it’s usually low sodium turkey bacon.   I’m getting older, I need to watch the waistline and fat intake. Don’t get me wrong, its still delicious, but it makes me cry a little inside, especially when local burger joints post their burger menu on Facebook every Monday for their 1/2 price burger special (yes, Shooter McGee’s, I’m talking about you).

In college I decided I would try out being a vegetarian for a while, obviously it didn’t stick.  I was pretty good for a few weeks, then I just decided that I wouldn’t eat beef (it was the whole mad cow thing I was afraid of, don’t judge).  That lasted for a few years,  I’m not really sure how long exactly.  I only would go off the “no beef” plan when I was home for breaks, I allowed myself one cheeseburger from Bill Gray’s, with hot sauce on the side and onion rings (best onion rings ever!).   Then I’m not sure what happened, I just started eating beef again.  Like I said, I love a good burger.  I also love a good steak…I’m not really sure why I decided to write this blog before lunch, I’m already starving!

Last night was burger night, yes, a healthy burger.  I like to add different flavors to the chicken to really make it flavorful.  I also let Eric season his own, since he likes different flavors.  I  tend to stick with the basics, a tsp. of Montreal Steak Seasoning and basil and green onions, sounds weird, but it’s really good.  I added some Siracha last night and it was even more awesome.  Surprisingly, Eric wanted the same thing, except extra Siracha, of course.   I’m a huge fan of flavored mayo, I also realize that mayo isn’t great for you, so I use Vegenaise mixed with this wonderful garlic-shallot mix called Vik’s Garlic Fix from The Spice and Tea Exchange, mix in as much as you want and let it sit while you cook the burgers.  This garlic mayo is great on burgers, BLT’s, Salmon BLT’s, and awesome dip for onion rings.  Trust me, if you go the Vegenaise route, you can’t even tell it’s not mayo.

I’m not going to post a recipe, because I think you all know how to make a burger.  If you do make a chicken or turkey burger, just make sure it’s cooked all the way through, no one wants to get salmonella from rare poultry, plus that would just be gross. Oh and obviously the whole “Meatless Monday” thing went down the drain, maybe next week we’ll try again…

Chicken burger with avocado, turkey bacon and garlic “mayo” with a side of baked onion rings.

It’s pasta night, we’re going to be trying out Nadia G’s Penne al Forno recipe.  I hope its good, it looks like it will be, I’ve seen that episode of ‘Bitchin’ Kitchin’ like 3 times in the last two days.   It’s also in her cookbook, so again, if this works out to be as awesome as I think, you’ll just have one more reason to go buy it.

Now, on to more important decisions…what’s for lunch?????

Leave a Reply

