Fall Is In the Air

It’s finally beginning to feel like Fall and not only because I lit my Autumn Wreath candle, but because there is a bit of a crispness in the air.  I was actually cold today and wore a sweater, which is a nice change, since I’m actually getting tired of wearing summery clothes.  I actually spent this weekend getting out some Fall decorations, all we really need is some pumpkins and gourds.  I really need to find a farmers market around here, like a legit one, with a little store to buy baked goods and apple cider…I really miss those…

The last week has not been very exciting culinary wise, well, unless you think pasta, pancakes and take-out are exciting.   I definitely made up for the slacking last night with a wonderful dinner of Asian Style Pork Chops, Yorkshire Pudding, and steamed broccoli.   It really was easy, the crock pot did most of the work and in lieu of mashed potatoes we had Yorkshire Pudding, a side dish that I’ve been craving for a long time, my mom makes the best.    I don’t utilize my crock pot enough, it’s my goal that this winter I use it more.  I’m all about setting and forgetting until it’s time to eat.    In fact I’m going to try to make slow cooked oatmeal tonight for tomorrow morning, if it turns out good I’ll let you know.

This week I was perusing the internet and found this blog called The Cooking Husband, pretty cute and full of really great sounding recipes.  The only thing we changed was using bone in chops, they were good, but I think the boneless ones or at least loin chops would have been moister (just because they wouldn’t be as thick as the ones we had) not that these were super dry, they weren’t, I just like really moist meat.

Asian Style Pork Chops The Cooking Husband

Ingredients

4 boneless pork chops

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup honey

2 tablespoons ketchup

1 clove garlic, crushed

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Place pork chops and remaining ingredients into the crock pot. Cook on low for 6 hours.

Verdict:  They were really good, just could have been a bit more moist.  Also, I think I would double the liquid and use a bigger crock pot (or smaller chops)   Eric thought they were really good, so that means we’ll probably try them again.  I’ll keep you posted if any of the changes I make help make this dish more delicious.

Now for the Yorkshire Pudding.  This side dish is probably my favorite, especially if you serve it with a roast and gravy.  Now I only have one piece of advice for making this dish, do not use a glass dish to bake this in, it won’t work.  If you don’t have a metal baking pan, use muffin tins, that’s what I did and it worked perfectly.  I think I’m only going to make this in muffin tins because it creates a lovely crust around the whole individual pudding and allows the middle to stay light and moist. Only problem is, you’ll probably eat way more than you would if you made it in a pan, but really, is that such an awful problem to have?

Here’s a recipe for the Yorkshire Pudding.  I’m not sure where I got this from, its pretty basic so if you were to google it the recipe wouldn’t really change that much.

Yorkshire Pudding

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon kosher salt

3/4 cup whole milk, room temperature

3 eggs, room temperature

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces

Directions

In a large bowl, combine the flour and salt. Make a well in the dry mixture, then pour in the milk, whisking thoroughly. Beat in eggs one at a time. Pour dry mixture into a blender, then add water. Blend until the mixture is light and frothy. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours, covered.

Let batter warm up to room temperature before using. While batter warms up, preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place butter in a 9×12-inch baking pan or muffin tin in oven and cook until sizzling, at least 5 minutes. Pour the batter over the melted butter and bake for 30 minutes, if using a pan, 15 minutes if using a muffin tin or until the sides have risen and are golden brown. Cut into 6–8 portions and serve immediately.

Verdict:   Yorkshire Pudding was something that my mom used to make every so often when I was growing up so I know its delicious.  Eric said he’s never had it before, not entirely true.  A few years ago my mom and I tried to make it but I didn’t have a metal baking pan, so we tried it with a glass one, it was not good.  Eric really enjoyed these individual ones, I have a feeling I’ll be making it a lot more often.

All in all, this meal was the perfect meal to start off the Fall season.   Tomorrow is supposed to be in the 80’s….not Fall weather…

Tonight is fish tacos, but we’re trying a new peach salsa, I gotta use up those jalapeno!  I’ll let you know how it is, I have high expectations, we shall see.

Leave a Reply

