Hurricane Sandy+Cabin Fever=Delicious

hurricane Sandy rolled into town this week and caused probably the worst destruction the east coast has ever seen.  My thoughts and prayers are with the victims of this horrible storm.  I’m very thankful that my friends and family in New York and New Jersey are all ok.  I’m also very thankful that we didn’t lose power and being on the 10th floor, we didn’t experience any flooding.  My office notified all staff that we would be closed Monday and Tuesday, I’d rather have a mini vacation under different circumstances, but I rolled with it.

Eric and I did all our grocery shopping on Sunday, braving the masses who were stock piling bread, milk and water.  Probably a good thing we don’t really buy bread, we have gallons of water already and I drink Lactaid (which wasn’t flying off the shelves at record speed, go figure).  People must have hoarded Halloween candy too, because all that was left was Reese’s and Crunch Bars (lame).  Of course when we got home, Eric realized we have way too much food and I bought doubles of things, subconsciously I was thinking we’d be trapped in our apartment for days.  I think next week will be an experiment to see how many meals we can create just by using what we already have, should be fun, I’ll keep you posted as to how it turns out (that is, if by our shopping day,Sunday, I don’t just say “forget it! We’re going to the store”).

The weather by us wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, don’t get me wrong, it was nasty, but it could have been 10 times worse.  It’s strange, I don’t like snow, I can tolerate it, but I absolutely hate rain.  I hate driving in it, I hate walking in it, I just hate it.  Even Quincy, my dog, hates the rain, though he hates pretty much anything that causes him to get wet.  I have to say, the last few days, Q has been a trooper, he even wore his raincoat outside!

Quincy “Storm Chaser” Peterson

We both were very content staying indoors the last two days, any longer though, I would be totally bored and probably would have run out of ingredients for baking.

Monday was sort of a free for all.  We just hung out and noshed on snacks all day.  I did make sugar cookie cut outs for Halloween, that kept me busy for a while.  After the cookies were done I found a box of brownie mix that I figured I’d get rid of, so I made Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Brownies for work.  It’s Halloween today, so I figured brining in two treats was totally warranted, I hope my co-workers agree.  Though I promise that I won’t bring in any more treats for at least two weeks, maybe three…maybe.

Tuesday was full of decorating the sugar cookies.  I can’t imagine being a cookie decorator, I probably already have carpal tunnel syndrome from doing just 24.   They did come out cute and judging from how many Eric ate while my back was turned, they must have been pretty good too. 

You know how I love my Pinterest. Last nights dinner is compliments of Pinterest.  I’ve been slacking on the whole “I’m trying new recipes” thing, so last night I decided to try a recipe from the blog Southern Girl Cooking, Garlic Pesto Chicken with Tomato Creme Penne.   Here’s the recipe, you should try it, like this week.

Garlic Pesto Chicken with Tomato Creme Penne

Ingredients:

For the chicken:

1/2 bottle of Lawrys Herb and Garlic Marinade

2 large spoonfuls of Pesto 2 boneless chicken breasts.

Cut chicken into one inch strips. Using same knife make slits into chicken. Pour Lawrys marinade and pesto over chicken. Marinate over night (I did mine in the morning and had it that same night)

For the Sauce:

8 ounces of your choice of pasta

2 tablespoons of olive oil

3 cloves of garlic

2 spoonfuls of pesto (I like Classico brand, if you don’t have homemade)

1/2 cup of chicken broth

8 ounces of tomato sauce

1 cup of half and half (I used good ole Lactaid, it was fine)

Directions:

Boil water and start on noodles.

Pour entire batch of chicken, marinade and all, into skillet and cook chicken fully (the marinade will evaporate/cook down)

Heat olive oil, cook garlic. Add pesto. Simmer in chicken broth until half has cooked down. Add tomato sauce. Then add milk. Simmer for 5 minutes. Toss pasta in. Add flour if it needs to be thickened (I actually added a little cornstarch to my milk, but after I did, I thought of adding tomato paste to thicken it a bit) Place chicken on top of pasta when serving.

Verdict:  It was really good, definitely one to put in rotation.  The best part about it is that its super easy and fast.  Eric said he could have kept eating, but wanted to save some for leftovers.  Another good thing about this recipe is that the chicken could be served on its own, I’d suggest maybe grilling it, that would be really yum.

I hope everyone has a very spooktacular Halloween!  I hope we get some Trick or Treaters, we’ll have a lot of candy if we don’t.

Leave a Reply

