Cooking Show and Indoor Fall BBQ

This past weekend a group of us went to the Metropolitan Cooking & Entertaining Show at the DC Convention Center.   This was my 3rd year going and we actually made it through every aisle.  There were some pretty awesome vendors, some great new products and lots of samples to taste.  I told Eric he wasn’t allowed to buy more than three bottles of hot sauce this year as last year he came home with about 10 that are still in our fridge barely touched.  Surprisingly, he didn’t buy any hot sauce but some other delicious treats which included Sheila G’s Brownie Brittle , they had a three for whatever special so of course Eric bought all three flavors.  Let’s just say if  you’re going to buy Brownie Brittle, you will eat the whole bag in one day, probably by yourself, or mostly by yourself because it’s that delicious. I think you pick up a bag at Wegmans and Costco (Brownie Brittle in bulk?! Um, Yes!!!)

Another wonderful product we found was Mumbo BBQ Sauce  .  I didn’t get a chance to taste this until we got home, the line was super long when my girlfriends and I passed their booth (Eric went through the hall with his friend).  But I knew it must have been good since there were so many people gathered around.  I wasn’t disappointed either, its pretty amazing bbq sauce.

If you’re ever in DC the first weekend of November, be sure to check out the Metropolitan Cooking and Entertaining Show, it’s so much fun and you may even run into your favorite celebrity chef!

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I absolutely love BBQ ribs. If they were low-fat, low cholesterol, just low everything, I’d probably eat them every day. Ok, maybe not everyday, but at least every other day. I’m not very picky about my ribs either, as long as they’re moist and flavorful, I’ll eat them sauced or unsauced (sauced is my preference). In an attempt to clean our the fridge, I decided to make a rack of ribs for dinner last night.  I don’t have a grill, but I’ve come up with a way to make my mom’s famous ribs in the oven (you’ll need a broiler to make them extra yummy).

Momma Welch’s BBQ Ribs

Ingredients:

Racks of baby back ribs (I find that 1 slab is good for 2-3 people, depending on how hungry you are)

1 bottle bbq sauce ( I use a lot because I like it, but you can use as much as you want)

Directions:

Cut each rack of ribs in half.  Place ribs in a large stock pot and cover with water.  Boil the ribs for about 1 hour.  Drain ribs and return to pot.  Pour desired amount of bbq sauce on ribs and let them sit in the sauce for a few hours (you can put them in the fridge if you are freaked out about leaving them on the stove to marinade.  I haven’t gotten Trichinosis or food poisoning  from leaving them out so it’s all good.)  Once you’re ready to cook the ribs, you can slap them on the grill until they’re heated through or you can bake them in the oven for 30 mins, basting every 10 and flipping them over half way through.  To finish them off, since I don’t have a grill, I broil each side for about 5 mins until the sauce is sticky and carmelized.

Verdict: Delicious as per usual.
I was planning on making more sides, but got a little distracted by working out and cleaning off our balcony.  I did however make dinner rolls (pictured) that came out fantastic.  I found the recipe on Pinterest, the recipe isn’t typed out, so I’ll just give you the website, it’s from Roxana’s Home Baking    I’m glad I finally found a yummy dinner roll recipe.

Tonight I think we’re having Cavatelli and Broccoli, but I’m not sure, I forgot what I wrote down on the menu…

Leave a Reply

