Holiday Update

I can’t believe how long it has been since I have posted!  To be honest, we’ve had some pretty lame dinners the last month or so, the holidays put a bit of a damper on any fun culinary experiments.  Even though we didn’t make anything exciting, we did have some wonderful dinners over Thanksgiving and Christmas.

My husband and I alternate holidays so this year we spent Thanksgiving in NC with his family and Christmas in NY with family.  It was nice to spend time with the family and have mini vacations, I’m not really looking forward to going back to work on the 2nd, its been nice sleeping in 🙂

Part of the perks of being on vacation is that I have time to look up new recipes to try.  My goal for 2013 is to eat healthier and of course blog more, oh and try to work out on a more regular basis (it will be bathing suit weather before we know it!).  I have found a bunch new recipes that I’m going to try this week.  First up is the Buffalo Chicken Taco.

I found this recipe on the Tasty Kitchen blog .  I love this blog, it has a ton of great recipes.  Of course I modified this recipe a little, as I always do.

Buffalo Chicken Tacos (adapted from Like Mother Like Daughter blog, found on Tinykitchen.com)

Ingredients

4 breaded chicken strips (I breaded my own chicken strips and baked them)
4 tortillas (I used whole wheat, low carb, high fiber tortillas, we actually like them better, try it you’ll like it)
1/4 cup bacon bits (I didn’t use bacon at all and I didn’t miss it)
1/4 cup tomato, chopped
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup lettuce, shredded
1 avocado sliced
1/3 cup winger’s sauce (I used Buffalo Wing sauce, it was fantastic)
2 TBS ranch dressing

Directions

Cook chicken strips according to package directions, I baked my for about 20 minutes.    Cut chicken strips into chunks, drizzle buffalo sauce over the chicken to coat.Put chicken, bacon, tomato, cheese and lettuce in a tortilla. Spreading evenly between each tortilla. Drizzle ranch dressing over the top.  Enjoy!

ChickentacoBuffaloOpenChickenTacoBuffalo

Verdict:  These were so good.  If you’re looking for something like the chicken tacos from Chilis (like mentioned in the blog)  follow the recipe exactly.  If you’re looking for something delish and full of buffalo chicken flavor, this is the way to go.  Eric inhaled his and wants me to add it to the dinner rotation, I agree.

I love tacos, they are so versatile that basically anything goes.  I’m thinking next time I’ll try buffalo shrimp tacos, that would be so good!

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve.  We’re staying in for a quiet dinner, it will be something really good, I’ll let you know what we decide to do, but I’m sure it will involve some sort of steak.    If you go out, please be careful.

Oh and before I go, GO VIKINGS!!!!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Update

  1. Yay, im so glad you made these tacos. And really glad you made them your own! Its such a simple recipe, and its fun to see you change it just a little. Your version looks just as delicious!

    • Thanks! I just love your blog and am so glad I found your recipe, I would never have thought to make these. I have to say my husband is a bit bummed I left out the bacon 🙂

Leave a Reply

