Stuck in a Dinner Rut

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been sick, or just stuck in a dinner rut, but lately our dinners have been pretty boring.  Don’t get me wrong, they’ve been delicious, but nothing special.   As much as I would love to make something new every day of week, I have realized that it’s not going to happen.  I’m pretty sure I can commit to at least three new recipes a week, I have enough cookbooks and recipes saved online to be able to do that.  Technically I could do a new recipe a day for about a year, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Whenever I get a free moment at work I look up recipes and send Eric the links to see if it’s a yay or nay.  Yesterday I sent him a bunch of chicken recipes, all of which he said looked good but considering I didn’t feel like going to the store after work, I narrowed it down to Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken.  I chose this recipe because it called for ingredients that I knew I already had.  Now, this might not be the healthiest recipe, but it was pretty tasty.  I also have to give Pinterest some props for helping me find this…Pinterest strikes again!

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken (from Life as a Lofthouse blog)

Ingredients
The chicken coating:
3-4 boneless chicken breasts
salt + pepper
1 cup cornstarch
2 eggs, beaten (I used EggBeaters)
1/4 cup canola oil (I used olive oil)
The sweet and sour sauce:
3/4 cup sugar
4 tbsp ketchup
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar (I used rice vinegar, I like the flavor better than white vinegar)
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp garlic salt
Directions

Start by preheating your oven to 325 degrees. Rinse your chicken breasts in water and then cut into cubes. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Dip chicken into the cornstarch to coat then dip into the eggs. Heat your 1/4 cup oil in a large skillet and cook your chicken until browned but not cooked through. Place the chicken in a 9×13 greased baking dish. Mix all of your sweet and sour sauce ingredients in a bowl with a whisk and then pour evenly over the chicken. Bake for one hour and during the baking process you will need to turn the chicken every 15 minutes.

Sweet and Sour Chicken, Brown Rice and Broccoli

Sweet and Sour Chicken, Brown Rice and Broccoli

Verdict:  Easy, fast-ish (I mean does take an hour and you have to stir it every 15 mins) and delish.  There weren’t any leftovers, so we all know that means Eric loved it.  I’d definitely make this again.  I served it with brown rice and broccoli, you know trying to get some healthy stuff in there.    I have to say I’d rather eat this version than the take out version, its way less greasy and I didn’t feel gross after I ate.

Tonight we just had pasta, it wasn’t anything exciting.  I didn’t even make the sauce 😦   Tomorrow I think I’ll try another new recipe, well it all depends if we’re snowed in or not.  I’m hoping for a snow day.

Oh, that reminds me, has anyone heard of snowcream?  I grew up in Upstate NY where they measure snow by feet, not inches, and today was the first time I’ve heard of this stuff.  Apparently its ice cream made from snow.  I’m not sure how I feel about eating snow, I guess if it’s not yellow or full of dirt it would be ok to eat, but I think I’ll pass.

 

 

Leave a Reply

