“Oh, that’s okay. I make lamb.”

The movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding is probably one of the only movies that Eric will watch with me, well besides Legally Blonde, but let’s keep that a secret.   The big Greek family reminds me of my own crazy kin.  It doesn’t look like there is a lot of us, but our loud voices, over dramatized hand gestures and just overall demeanor will make you think there are hundreds of us in the room.  Another similarity is the fact that whenever there is a get together you can be sure there is a ton of food, usually enough to feed an entire army.  We just don’t want anyone to go hungry and we will force you to eat until you’re bursting at the seams.

My favorite character in MBFGW is Aunt Voula.  This character reminds me so much of my Aunt Theresa, especially the scene where Ian says he doesn’t eat meat and she proceeds to announce she’ll make lamb for him.   Every time I see lamb on a menu or in the store I think of this movie.   I don’t even like lamb.  I like the idea of lamb, I just can’t get over the fact that I think it tastes like the meadow.  Eric on the other hand loves lamb, so since he chose the menu for the week he included lamb chops, I had a huge salad.

Lamb Chops Marinade (for 8-10 chops,or three, whatever)

 Ingredients
4oz. Olive Oil
2oz. lemon juice
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 c. parsley, chopped or 3 Tbsp. dried
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
2 tsp. marjoram
2 tsp. thyme (dried)
2 tsp. caraway seeds
2 garlic cloves, pressed or finely minced
Directions
Combine ingredients in resealable bag.  Put chops in bag and squish to evenly coat.  Refrigerate overnight, tuning occasionally.  Scrape off onion bits and grill for 4-5 mins on each side.  If you don’t have a grill pan sear them for 3 mins a side and finish to desired doneness in the oven, 350-375 degrees,about 10-12 minutes for medium rare.
LambChops
Verdict:  Considering Eric wants me to make this every day, I’d say he loves this meal.  I love couscous and when I’ve had the lamb it’s good, you know, for lamb.
Here’s how I make couscous.
Couscous
Ingredients
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 small onion (or half of a medium one)
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4-1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, depending on how hot you like it
1/4 tsp of Marrakesh Za’atar seasoning ( I eye-ball it, this stuff is awesome)
1 cup uncooked couscous
1 1/4 cup of chicken broth or water
1 small tomato, seeded and chopped (optional)
Directions
Heat olive oil in sauce pan on medium high heat.  Add onion and garlic, saute until translucent, be careful not to burn garlic (turn down heat if too high).  Add pepper flake and Marrakesh Za’atar seasoning, cook for 30 seconds.  Add couscous, cook for 1 minute (I like the toasted flavor this brings out).  Add broth and bring up to a boil, stir, take off heat and let stand for 5 minutes.  Fluff with a fork, add in tomatoes if you want.  Enjoy!
I swear we do eat veggies, just not as much as I would like.  But I’m trying to change that, it’s a process.
We’re off to a hockey game.  I hope we don’t lose….again.  GO CAPS!
Leave a Reply

