Happy Mardi Gras!

It’s Mardi Gras today or Fat Tuesday, which is what I call it since I want to indulge in all the yummy food I love before I give it up for Lent.  I haven’t figured out what to give up, but I still have a few more hours before I have to make that decision.   I would love to say it would be desserts, treats, chocolate and the like, but I’ve tried that for the last twelve years but haven’t been able to last the full 40 days.

This weekend when I was planning the weekly menu I forgot that Mardi Gras was this week so I didn’t really plan on anything special, in fact tonight was going to be some sort of leftover pasta recipe, which would have been a sad way to celebrate Mardi Gras.  So, on the way home we picked up some sausage and a box of Zatarain’s…don’t judge, I was limited on time.   Now I try not to buy boxed foods, especially if I know I can make a homemade version better, but Zatarain’s has a new lower sodium mix that is pretty good, especially  when I add a few extra ingredients to make it more delicious.

Jambalaya

Ingredients

1 chicken breast, cubed
1 package of Turkey Kielbasa, cut into bite sized pieces
1 onion, diced
1 garlic, minced
2 1/2 cups of beef broth
1 pkg. Jambalaya Mix (I used Zatarain’s)

Directions

Heat a 3 quart sauce pan over medium-high with 1 tbsp of olive oil.  Add onions, garlic, chicken and sausage and cook until chicken browned and onions are translucent. Add beef broth.  Bring to a boil.  Add Jambalaya mix, stir.  Return to a boil then reduce to low.  Cover pot and simmer for 25 minutes or until rice is tender. Let stand 5 minutes before serving…it will be piping hot, just FYI.

Jambalaya

Verdict:  Eric really liked it, especially since it’s way less salty than the regular mix.  I agree, it was pretty tasty and low sodium is always good.  I don’t usually cook with salt so when there is a little more sodium than what we’re used to we tend to notice it.   I’d make this again, especially on  weeknight.

Again, we had a huge salad, with avocado’s since I’m still obsessed with them.  I really wish I had some King Cake, that would top off the night.  Instead, I think I’ll make a quick pear tart, Jacques Pepin style.

Hope you had a festive Mardi Gras! Laissez les bons temps rouler!

One thought on “Happy Mardi Gras!

  1. I made the same thing for early Mardi Gras at Kira’s last week. Then I made Zatarain’s Gumbo for real Mardi Gras at home this week. Waiting to hear what you are making for Valentine’s Day. I know what your Mom is making. It’s fun to read your blog.

Leave a Reply

