Sloppy Joe Saturday

I feel like I haven’t posted in ages, but to be honest, you really don’t want to know what I’ve been up to, nor hear about the food I’ve sort of made or have eaten in the last two weeks.  Let’s just say I was shocked when I got on the scale and saw that I’ve lost 5 lbs…not that I’m complaining.

Today was the first time in two weeks I’ve been grocery shopping.  We planned a whole week of new recipes, most of which I found on Pinterest.  So far the first recipe we chose came out awesome.  Tonight we had one of my favorite comfort foods, Sloppy Joes.  I’ve tried many different recipes, none of which included Manwich, and I have to say this recipe is the best I’ve found.  If you like a combination of smokey, sweet and spicy, you’ll totally dig this.  Just a heads up, you’ll need to find a spice shop to buy some of the spices, unless you can find them in the supermarket, but I had no luck with that.  If you don’t live by a spice shop, you can order them online, I suggest Penzeys , we have a store near us and I just love it!  Be sure to sign up for their catalog, they include tons of recipes that always look amazing.

Sloppy Joes ( from twirlandtaste.com-Libby Murphy)

Ingredients
1 pound ground brisket (or ground beef)
1 large yellow onion, chopped (or less if you prefer)
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 tablespoon yellow mustard
1/8 teaspoon chipotle powder
1 tablespoon jalapeno, chopped
1 cup ketchup
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1-1/2 tablespoons flour
3 tablespoons dark brown sugar
Dash cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper to taste
4 hamburger buns, lightly buttered and toasted on inside
Directions
 In a large skillet over high heat, sauté the beef, onions, and garlic until the beef is cooked and browning, and all the liquid has boiled off (around 10 minutes). Turn the heat down to low; then add the spices and cook, stirring, for a few seconds. Stir in the remaining ingredients, then partially cover and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes, stirring frequently to prevent scorching. If mixture is still not thick enough to your liking, add a bit more flour until it is. Divide the mixture among the buns and serve.
SloppyJoe2
Verdict:  Like I said, this is probably our favorite Sloppy Joe recipe (I may have said that about another recipe in a previous post, but oh well, this one wins)  Eric loved it, as usual.  I served this with green beans and Lays Sriracha potato chips (if you haven’t tried these, go do it now, so good).  There is only a little of the meat mixture left, I’m sure Eric will eat it before he does the dishes, he tends to graze on leftovers so we never really have leftovers.
I’m not sure this is a kid friendly meal, unless your kids have sophisticated taste buds, but hey, you never know, they may just love it as much as the adults.
Tomorrow we’re making lasagna, YAY!!! I love lasagna but never make it since Eric isn’t a huge fan.  This recipe has fennel in it so I know that’s why he agreed to try it.  I’ll let you know how it comes out.
Leave a Reply

