Hello Spring!

This weekend was absolutely gorgeous!   I’ve been in western NY for two weeks where it basically snowed everyday and even when the sun was out it was still cold.  Since the weather was so nice, I had a laundry list of “spring cleaning” things I wanted to do, but like I said, the weather was nice so let’s just say nothing on the list got done.  There is always next weekend…

During the week I usually grab a bagel or granola bar for breakfast, not exciting, but fast and convenient for work days.  I love the weekends because even if I get up late,  I can still make a delicious breakfast to start off the day.  This weekend I felt like making a Quiche.  I’m not a huge egg fan, in fact, I hate scrambled eggs or anything really eggy, the texture just grosses me out, however, I love Quiche.  I think it’s because Quiche is basically a savory pie, and who doesn’t love pie?   My Quiche came out amazing, even Eric loved it (he ate half of it himself).

There are so many different Quiche recipes out there and all are different.  I looked at about 5 different ones and came up with my own.  Next time you have people over for brunch, be sure to make this, I promise everyone will love it.

Quiche Lorraine

Ingredients

1 prepared pie crust (or make your own)
6 slices of bacon, cut in pieces
2 leeks, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 cup egg substitute (I use Egg Beaters, this equals out to 4 eggs)
1 cup half and half
1 cup milk (I used Lactaid)
a dash of nutmeg
1 cup Gruyère cheese, grated
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 375.  Roll out dough and press into a 10 in. tart pan.  Be sure to press the dough into the corners of the pan and cut off the excess dough.   Poke holes in the bottom of the crust and bake for 15 mins.

While the crust bakes, sauté the bacon until crisp.  Remove bacon from the pan and set aside.  Add leeks to the pan and cook until tender, about 2-3 minutes.  Add garlic, cook for 1 minute.  Remove leek and garlic mixture, set aside with bacon.

In a medium bowl whisk together eggs, half and half, milk, nutmeg, cheese, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Arrange the bacon-leek mixture in the bottom of the pie crust and pour the egg mixture on top.

Bake for 30-40 minutes.   I prefer a golden top, so I let it cook for about an hour.   Cool on a wire rack, serve warm or room temp.  This goes perfect with a mixed green salad (which I didn’t make, but wished I did)

QuicheVerdict: Eric couldn’t get enough of this and he doesn’t really like Quiche.  I loved it, I wish I had a salad with it, but even alone it was the perfect start to the day.

This week we have a full menu planned with lots of new recipes so I’ll try to post them.  I’m hoping next weekend we’ll be able to get our balcony set up for the nice weather.  We’re planning to expand our herb garden and add some fun plants.  Here’s to hoping I’ve inherited my dad’s green thumb…so far it’s hit or miss.

 

Leave a Reply

