Wait, You’re Telling Me You Can Cook??

In March spent two weeks in NY with my family.  Let me tell you, it’s amazing what you find out when you’re around the same people basically 24 hours a day.  The most interesting piece of information I learned that was my brother Mike does the majority of the cooking in his house.  Shocking because I didn’t even know he knew how to do anything besides boil water or make a sandwich.  It seems he and his fiancée have a pretty good system worked out, he cooks, she cleans up (which is basically how it is in my house), and apparently he is a pretty good cook.

Now, I probably shouldn’t say this, but yesterday mom told me the both of them had a banana bread throw down, Bobby Flay style.  My mom makes a pretty good banana bread, especially when she adds in fresh blueberries…so good, which she didn’t include in her throw down bread.  I’m pretty sure if she did, she would have won, however, my brother won.  I have a feeling that everyone who visits in the next few days will be subjected to a taste test, this may become a best out 5 throw down…you’ve been warned.  Next time we get together, I’m going to add my banana bread to the roster…I’m pretty sure I’ll win, it’s pretty awesome 🙂

Last night I tried Mike’s recipe for pork chops.  He claimed this was the best recipe for chops so I had to find out for myself.  I’ve made a few changes to his recipe but essentially it’s the same (I cut up a pork tenderloin instead of using chops).

Mike’s San Francisco Pork

Ingredients

1 Tbsp. olive oil
4 boneless pork chops (or one pork tenderloin cut into pieces)
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup beef broth
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tbsp. brown sugar
2 tsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. red pepper flake
2 tsp. cornstarch
2 Tbsp. water

Directions

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Brown chops (or tenderloin pieces) in hot oil, about 5 minutes per side; remove pork to a plate, reserving oil in skillet.

Cook and stir garlic in reserved drippings until fragrant, about 1 minute. Whisk beef broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, 2 teaspoons olive oil, and red pepper flakes in a bowl, dissolving brown sugar. Return pork chops to skillet and pour soy sauce mixture over the chops. Bring sauce to a boil, cover skillet, and reduce heat to low. Simmer chops until tender, 30 to 35 minutes, turning once halfway through cooking.

Transfer pork to a serving platter. Whisk cornstarch and water in a small bowl until smooth; stir into pan juices and simmer until thickened, about 5 minutes. Pour sauce over chops to serve.  I suggest if using the tenderloin pieces, coat the pieces before serving.

SanFranPorkVerdict:  This was so simple and easy, definitely going to add this to the rotation.  Eric loved it, not surprising.  We served this over egg noodles, but with rice it would be good too.   I think the next time I make this I’ll double the sauce, maybe add  more broth and reduce the soy sauce (it was a little on the salty side and I use low sodium soy).

Mike came through on this recipe, this is probably one of the top 5 best pork recipes I’ve made.  Just goes to show you never know where the next best recipe you make will come from.

 

One thought on “Wait, You’re Telling Me You Can Cook??

Leave a Reply

