No Grill, No Problem!

One thing I miss living in a high rise is that we’re not allowed to have grills on our balconies.  Now, I can’t say I blame them, there are a bunch of idiots that live in my building and even though the walls are concrete, I don’t want to take any chances of a fire, the Fire Department is here enough (for reasons I’m still trying to figure out).  So over the last few years I’ve come to experiment with my oven broiler, which chars up meat pretty good to give it the “grill flavor”, ribs work the best and come out perfect you don’t even need a grill (but if you have one, use it, don’t go half way when you can make awesome ribs even more awesome).

This recipe is from my mom, she makes the best ribs north of the Mason-Dixon line, and my dad grilled them to perfection.  They’re so good I had my parents make them for my pre-rehearsal wedding dinner (the dinner the night before the rehearsal for all the out of town guest who came in early).   Let’s just say it was a great success!

Here’s the recipe for those who want to enjoy bbq ribs, if you have a grill just skip the oven part and go straight to the grill.

Momma Welch’s Perfect BBQ Ribs (this recipe is for two, but just add more slabs of ribs for more people)

Ingredients

1 rack of baby back or pork ribs

1 bottle of BBQ Sauce (I like Sweet Baby Rays, but use your favorite)

Directions

Cut rack of ribs in half.  Place ribs in a large pot filled with water to just over the meat.  Partially cover the pot and heat over medium high heat for about an hour.  Drain water and add enough sauce to coat ribs in the pot.  You can put the meat in the fridge until you’re ready to cook.  When you’re ready to cook the ribs, pre heat oven to 350 and place ribs on a lined cookie sheet, baste with more sauce.   Cook for 15 mins basting with sauce every 5 mins.  Turn over and repeat the basting process so the ribs get all sticky with bbq goodness.  Turn on the broiler and place the oven rack 6 inches from the broiler, cook for 5 mins on each side, checking often so the sauce doesn’t burn, you want it to caramelize not catch fire.  Once you’ve reached the desired caramelization stage, you’re ready to eat!  Enjoy and make sure you have lots of napkins.

RibsOvenRibsDinner

Verdict: I think I posted this recipe before, but as Eric said tonight, “I think you’ve mastered the rib” .  We had one rack and only ate half of it, it was huge.  I also made corn on the cob and cole slaw (ok, so I went to KFC to get the slaw, they do make the best).  Pretty darn good for not having a grill if I may say so.

I thought it would be nice to make brownies today for dessert.  Since we were having a not so healthy meal, I thought I would experiment with making “healthy brownies”.  Let’s just say I’m not going to post the recipe until I’ve mastered it, it needs some work, but I’m pretty sure I’m almost there.  As of the brownies, I’m going to eat them, they’re not inedible  I’m just going to slap some cool whip on them and they’re good to go.

Hope you all had a nice long weekend.  It’s Memorial Day, I’m very thankful for all the men and women who have served and who are currently serving our country.

Leave a Reply

