Fall is here….well almost…

This is my first post in months.  I’ve been a total slacker but I promise it’s because I’ve been super busy.  Lots of things have happened over the last five months, well a lot has happened this year in general, but I won’t go into all of that.  Our most exciting news is that we bought a house this past summer, which is the main reason I’ve not posted.  Instead of having my hands involved in creating delicious meals and treats, they’ve been covered in blue, red, yellow and green paint from my numerous room painting projects…which is not delicious or as fun as cooking.  I have to say I’ve learned a few things while I’ve tackled the huge painting project at home, 1. Eric is a great cook but a stinky painter. 2. I’m not the best painter, but I’m just enough of a perfectionist that I’d rather do it all myself than watch someone else paint the “wrong” way.  3. Don’t ever paint over wallpaper, stop being lazy and strip that crap off the wall, trust me, it will not only be better for you but if you ever sell the house it will be less of a headache for the new owners.  4. As much of a pain it is to move, re-paint and shell out $$ for a house, it really is all worth it in the end, especially if you have space for family to come visitJ.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I grew up in Western New York State, which is gorgeous this time of the year will all the fall foliage and of course all the apple orchards busting at the seams with all the apple products you could ever dream of.   Now that I live in the DC Metro area, I miss the fall season, it just isn’t the same here, the trees are still green and the thought of wearing a heavy sweater makes me sweat (I’m hoping it will cool down a bit, it is October after all).   This weekend my mom came to visit and brought a huge box of apples straight from the orchards of NYS.  I love the smell of apples, I love apple pie, apple cake, apple fritters,  pork with apples, applesauce (which I like in moderation after working at Mott’s during the summer in college), and baked apples, I’m sure I’d like apple butter, but I can’t remember if I’ve ever had it.  What may surprise people is that I’m not a fan of eating a whole apple.  I have one on my desk right now, staring me down, waiting for me take a bite.  I’ll definitely eat it with lunch, but I don’t think I can eat one every day, unless I cover it in peanut butter or caramel.

Just waiting....

Just waiting….

I have no doubt though that I will use all the apples I have that are sitting in my kitchen.  In fact I found a really great recipe for apple cake, it was the first time I’ve used this recipe and it’s a winner.  I brought it in to work today and my inbox has been flooded with how great this cake is.  So, if you want to win over your co-workers or family or friends with a fall recipe that can be either for breakfast or dessert (or even lunch, I don’t judge), you’ll want to make this ASAP.

 Mom’s Apple Cake

Ingredients
4-6 Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced (I sliced and then chopped them roughly)
2 cups sugar
1 cup walnuts (optional)
1 cup oil
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tsp. baking soda
3 cups flour
2 tsp. cinnamon
1tsp. salt
1tsp. nutmeg

Directions

In a large bowl, add apples. Pour in sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla.  Mix well.

Add all dry ingredients.  Mix well.  Mix in nuts.  Bake at 350 in a lightly greased13x9 pan for 40 mins.

Don't mind the upper right corner, we needed to taste test to make sure it was edible.

Don’t mind the upper right corner, we needed to taste test to make sure it was edible.

Verdict:  Everyone at worked raved about it.  I got comments that it was not too sweet and not too heavy.  I haven’t checked the pan yet, but I’m pretty sure if it’s not gone yet, it will be soon.  I did leave a slice for Eric for his breakfast/snack, he was sad that I brought the whole thing into work.

I think I failed to mention that my new kitchen is apple themed…somehow, recently I’ve been hit with the apple bug…I think it’s because when I see an apple I think of my dad…

Leave a Reply

