Monday Surprises and A Quick Fix Meal

I don’t know anyone that loves Monday’s, well unless it happens to be a three day weekend. I had a pretty bad case of the “Monday’s” yesterday, all stemming from feeling pretty crummy from a huge allergy flare up, so when I came home last night and noticed a huge package on my doorstep, I was instantly in a better mood, considering it was addressed to me. I opened it up and to my surprise there were three cookbooks and a letter stating that I had won a recipe contest through Tastebook.com and these cookbooks were part of the prize, another cookbook personalized by Felicity Hoffman (of Desperate Housewives fame) would be on its way.  Pretty sweet deal since I’m obsessed with cookbooks and two of the three were actually on my Christmas wish list.   An added bonus was that they all met my cookbook criteria for having at least five recipes I’d try out, this being said I will be keeping all three 🙂

For those who don’t know about TasteBook, I suggest you take a look sometime.  I discovered this site a few years ago while I was trying to sort through and organize my recipes.  I have horrible handwriting so anything that I can have printed is pretty much fine with me.  My first cookbook I made was for one of my best friends for her bridal shower, in fact because of the book I gave them I received one for my shower.   I liked the idea of creating a personalized book that can be added to over time.  Plus you can choose your own cover and add pictures of food as well.  I think I have over 200 recipes on this site and am always adding them to my different book projects.  The site is very user-friendly as well.  So if you’re stuck on figuring out a cool gift for someone now that the holiday’s are coming up, take a look at Tastebook, maybe make a cookbook full of you traditional family recipes for those you love.  BTW, Tastebook didn’t tell me to give them a shout out, they’re just that awesome that I want everyone to know.

Now it’s been a while since I’ve cooked dinner.  My mom was visiting us for a few weeks and I have to say having her cook every night was nice.  Last night the last thing I wanted to do was cook but we found this really fast and easy dinner on Hillshirefarm.com , of course I modified it a bit with things I had in the fridge already and didn’t want to go to waste.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun Dried Tomatoes
(adapted from hillshirefarm.com-they have awesome looking recipes, take a look)

Ingredients

1 lb. gnocchi (surprisingly enough I found frozen gnocchi from a store brand, it was fab)

1 pkg. any flavor of sausage, cut into 1/2 inch slices (I used Hillshire Farms low-fat turkey sausage)

1/4 cup julienne sun-dried tomatoes in oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup of caramelized onions (optional, my addition)

4 cups baby spinach (one bag is perfect)

1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese (I also added a handful of a 6 Italian cheese mix I had)

Directions

Prepare gnocchi according to directions; before draining, reserve about a cup of pasta water; drain and keep warm.

Heat oil a large skillet over medium-high, stir in sausage, garlic, sun-dried tomatoes and onions, heat 5 minutes or until sausage is lightly browned.

Stir in spinach with sausage mixture, when it starts to wilt toss in gnocchi; heat through. If using additional cheese, stir in and add a few tablespoons of pasta water to create a sauce.  Stir to combine. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese; serve immediately.

photo

Verdict: I’m not sure if this meal took 15 mins, but it was pretty darn fast.  I’d definitely make this again, maybe even without the sausage.   Eric wanted to put red sauce on his, because he loves red sauce.  I’d think it was too many flavors going on, so I’d say use your own judgement.  It definitely was flavorful and delicious as is.   I had to put some aside for my lunch because I knew if I didn’t, there wouldn’t be any left!

Not sure what’s for dinner tonight, it’s Eric’s turn to cook…I’m pretty confident it will be yummy.

Leave a Reply

